JOSE ‘CHIQUIRO’ MARTINEZ DEFENDS NABO SUPER FLYWEIGHT CROWN AGAINST ALEJANDRO ‘PEQUE’ SANTIAGO ON MARCH 24

GOLDEN BOY BOXING ON ESPN RETURNS TO COMPLEJO FERIAL DE PUERTO RICO AS JOSE ‘CHIQUIRO’ MARTINEZ DEFENDS NABO SUPER FLYWEIGHT CROWN AGAINST ALEJANDRO ‘PEQUE’ SANTIAGO ON MARCH 24

SUPER FLYWEIGHT PRODIGY JOSHUA ‘THE PROFESSOR’ FRANCO TO RETURN CO-MAIN EVENT FOR FIRST 10-ROUND FIGHT

Tickets on Sale now!

LOS ANGELES (Feb 8, 2018): Golden Boy Boxing on ESPN will return to the Island of Enchantment, Puerto Rico, as Jose “Chiquiro” Martinez (20-0-1, 13 KOs) makes the first defense of his NABO Super Flyweight Title in a 10-round rematch against Tijuana, Mexico’s Alejandro “Peque” Santiago (15-2-3, 7 KOs) on Saturday, March 24 at Complejo Ferial de Puerto Rico in Ponce. Doors to the event open at 7:00 p.m. AST/6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT, and the first non-televised bout begins at 7:30 p.m. AST/6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT. ESPN and ESPN Deportes will air the fights beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET /5:30 p.m. PT. ESPN 3 will live stream the fights beginning at 8:00 p.m. AST/7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT.

Martinez captured the NABO 115-pound title by defeating Jesus Martinez with a vicious shot to the body in the main event of the Nov. 16 edition of Golden Boy Boxing ESPN in Cancun, Mexico. Martinez’s record is unblemished except for a majority draw against Santiago himself, a decision that Martinez, the 25-year-old native of Las Marias, Puerto Rico, is eager to correct.

“I’m extremely happy and grateful to once again fight against Alejandro Santiago,” said Jose Martinez. “I wanted this fight to get that thorn off my side and to show all of my people what I’m made of. I learned a lot from the first fight because it was so close. I’ll walk away with the win by training hard and being in great condition.”

Santiago is a young fighter who has welcomed tough fights throughout his career. Though spending much of his time fighting at home in Tijuana, Mexico, the 21-year-old has twice gone to foreign territory in search of tough matchups. In 2016, Santiago fought to a split draw against then-undefeated Antonio Nieves in New York. Later that year, Santiago battled to a majority draw against Martinez, which he’ll look to rectify win a victory in their rematch.

“I believe I won the first fight,” said Alejandro Santiago. “It was a close fight, but this time there will be no doubts. I’m working really hard for this fight. I’m very motivated and I think that a victory will put me on the pathway to a world title. Martinez is a great fighter, and I know it will be a great fight. It’ll be a fight between Mexico and Puerto Rico, which is always big for boxing.”

In the televised co-main event, San Antonio’s, Texas’ Joshua “The Professor” Franco (13-0, 6 KOs) will return in his first 10-round fight against Lucas Fernandez (11-1-1, 8 KOs) of Santa Fe, Argentina. This super flyweight prospect’s nickname comes from his skillful boxing style, which combines good defense and short punches to be effectively aggressive. Franco will inch closer to a regional title if successful in this match-up.

Danielito Zorrilla (4-0, 4 KOs), the rising super lightweight puncher of Toa Baja, Puerto Rico, will face Regino Canalas (6-6, 2 KOs) of Caguas, Puerto Rico in a six-round battle. Zachary Ochoa (18-1, 7 KOs) of Brooklyn, New York will return in a six-round super lightweight fight against Puerto Rico’s Ryan Pino (7-1, 3 KOs). Ochoa will look to earn his third victory in a row after his first career loss.

Kevin Nieves (12-1, 5 KOs) of Comerio, Puerto Rico will return in a six-round lightweight clash against his compatriot Edgardi Rivera (7-5-2, 5 KOs), while Jose Bartelomei (4-0, 4 KOs) of Juana Diaz, Puerto Rico will participate in a four-round fight against Miguel Ortiz (3-24) in the 130-pound division.

Rashidi Ellis (18-0, 12 KOs) of Boston, Mass. will return in an eight-round welterweight fight. Juan Camacho (6-1, 5 KOs), who is also from Juana Diaz, will square off in super flyweight fight scheduled for four rounds. Edwin Valentin (3-0, 3 KOs)of Salinas, Puerto Rico will compete in a six-round bantamweight fight, while Josean Serra (11-1, 7 KOs) of Ponce, Puerto Rico will return in a six-round light flyweight bout to open the night of action.

Opponents for all four, along with a full card of action, will be announced shortly.


Follow FightBookMMA’s CEO/Founder/President/Owner

Roberto Villa

@fightbookmma

www.fightbookmma.com


Show your support and head out to our Online Stores. To buy the FightBookMMA Merchandise which include hats, sweaters, woman’s tank tops, hoodies, cups and kids wear than you need head out to our store by going here. Check out our Amazon Store we have everything you need by going here. If that’s not enough you can go to our Plazah online store with more stuff to check out by going here.

Help us sponsor fighters by joining the #FightBookMMANation. Want to learn more on how WE can help these fighters get sponsored so they can pay for Travel, Hotel, Gym Time, etc.? Than you need to go here.

 

Tags

Sorry - Comments are closed

Want the latest News?

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive our news delivered to your inbox!

Join 28,252 other subscribers

New Mexico need a new car? Tell them FightBookMMA sent you.