UFC 229 salaries: McGregor makes $3 million and Khabib $2 million

UFC 229 took place Saturday at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas. The main card aired on pay-per-view while the televised prelims on FS1 and the early prelims on UFC Fight Pass. For the official results, bonuses and Reebok Sponsorship Payout you can go here.

The Nevada State Athletic Commission released the disclosed salaries to FightBookMMA prior to the event. The total disclosed payout for the event was $6,636,000.


Lightweight champion Khabib Nurmagomedov (27-0 MMA, 11-0 UFC) made a disclosed $2 million flat rate Conor McGregor (21-4 MMA, 9-2 UFC) made $3 million.

Because Nurmagomedov went over the cage after the Nevada State Athletic Commission still withholding his paycheck. But McGregor was paid that night. We still don’t know how long the NSAC will withhold Nurmagomedov’s pay.

Five other fighters on the card earned $100,000 or more. Derrick Lewis (21-5 MMA, 12-3 UFC) took home $270,000. Tony Ferguson (24-3 MMA, 14-1 UFC) made $155,000 while Anthony Pettis (21-8 MMA, 8-7 UFC) took home $145,000. Michelle Waterson (16-6 MMA, 4-2 UFC) made $100,000 and Nik Lentz (29-9-2 MMA, 13-6-1 UFC) made $100,000.

The usual disclaimer: Figures don’t include deductions for items such as insurance, licenses and taxes. The figures don’t include money paid by sponsors, including the official Reebok Sponsorship Payout. They also don’t include any other “locker room” or special discretionary bonuses the UFC oftentimes pays. They also don’t include pay-per-view cuts that some top-level fighters receive.

UFC 229 salaries includes:

Khabib Nurmagomedov: $2 million (no win bonus; purse currently being withheld by NSAC)

Conor McGregor: $3 million (no win bonus)

Tony Ferguson: $155,000 (includes $5,000 win bonus)

Anthony Pettis: $145,000

Dominick Reyes: $90,000 (includes $45,000 win bonus)

Ovince Saint Preux: $86,000

Derrick Lewis: $270,000 (includes $135,000 win bonus)

Alexander Volkov: $75,000

Michelle Waterson: $100,000 (includes $50,000 win bonus)

Felice Herrig: $40,000

Jussier Silva: $86,000 (includes $43,000 win bonus)

Sergio Pettis: $46,000

Vicente Luque: $76,000 (includes $38,000 win bonus)

Jalin Turner: $10,000

Aspen Ladd: $24,000 (includes $12,000 win bonus)

Tonya Evinger: $30,000

Scott Holtzman: $60,000 (includes $30,000 win bonus)

Alan Patrick: $30,000

Yana Kunitskaya: $50,000 (includes $25,000 win bonus)

Lina Lansberg: $20,000

Nik Lentz: $100,000 (includes $50,000 win bonus)

Grey Maynard: $54,000

Tony Martin: $56,000 (includes $28,000 win bonus)

Ryan LaFlare: $33,000