BREAKING: Sakio Bika vs. Lionell Thompson fight off the PBC on FS1 card

NATIONAL HARBOR: The match between former middleweight champion Sakio Bika and Lionell Thompson has been removed from the Premier Boxing Champions on FS1 card on Sunday at MGM Grand National Harbor in Maryland.

Advertisement

The fight was taken off of the card after the Maryland State Athletic Commission discovered Bika had a medical issue during his pre-fight examination on Friday.

As a result, the eight-round fight between unbeaten super featherweight prospect Cobia Breedy (12-0, 4 KOs) and Fernando Fuentes (14-7-1, 4 KOs) will now open the FS1 prelims, which begin at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

The FS1 prelims broadcast will also feature Brandon Quarles (21-4-1, 10 KOs) battling Kansas-native Aaron Coley (15-2-1, 7 KOs) in an eight-round middleweight bout, plus Baltimore’s Lorenzo Simpson (2-0, 2 KOs) taking on Jaime Meza (pro debut) in a four-round super middleweight attraction.

The event is headlined by two-division world champion Lamont Peterson taking on former junior welterweight world champion Sergey Lipinets in a 12-round welterweight match that headlines PBC on FS1 and FOX Deportes beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.